Clean Energy & Sustainability Committee

The Select Board has charged the Clean Energy and Sustainability Committee with studying and making recommendations for specific strategies and actions for Chelmsford to achieve a goal of net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2050, and also to recommend intermediate targets that are consistent with the overall final objective. 

 The Committee will provide a report of findings and recommendations to the Select Board annually, and will also provide an overall assessment of Chelmsford's progress toward net-zero emissions to the Select Board every five years.


Elected and Appointed Officials List

Climate Action Plan

The Committee has prepared a first draft of a Climate Action Plan.  We are asking for your feedback which we will use to create a new draft.

Read the current draft HERE.

Please send comments to:


Town Weatherization Program

We are excited to announce that Chelmsford has partnered with All In Energy and Mass Save contractor HomeWorks to offer no-cost home energy assessments for Chelmsford residents. These home energy assessments are free and are designed to help you save money on your energy bills and make your home more comfortable year-round.

During the assessment, a HomeWorks Energy Specialist will evaluate your home’s energy use and identify areas where you can save money on your energy bills. They will also provide you with a customized report that outlines recommended energy-saving improvements and available rebates and incentives.  Mass Save offers large discounts for recommended work if homeowners decide to proceed.  The cost of all recommended work is set by Mass Save and is consistent among all contractors.

We encourage all residents to take advantage of these free home energy audits. To schedule your free assessment with HomeWorks please call 978-350-0293.

Heat Pump Advice

The audit may show that your heating unit is near the end of its useful life and recommend replacement with a heat pump as an option.   The Chelmsford Clean Energy and Sustainability Committee recommends serious consideration of this option- also heavily incentivized by Mass Save rebates.  

Free heat pump consultation is available to you through our committee and also with HeatSmart Alliance – a Massachusetts non-profit set up to advise homeowners.  This organization provides free objective and impartial general advice for your particular heat pump situation. 

 Arrange to talk with a HeatSmart volunteer heat pump coach here:  

The Committee recommends that homeowners get multiple bids if interested in heat pump or HVAC solutions to their homes. 

Thank you for your attention and we hope you take advantage of this program.

Updated 7-19-2023

Contact Us

  1. Chelmsford Recycling Committee - Logo

    Christopher Haley

    Sustainability Manager
    phone: 978-250-5203
    fax: 978-250-2416

    9 Alpha Road
    Chelmsford, MA 01824

    Recycling Bins and Stickers are available at 9 Alpha Road.