Local Emergency Planning Committee

About the Committee

The Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), appointed by the Town Manager, consists of eight members, the town manager, a member from the Board of Health, the chief of the Police Department, the chief of the Fire Department, a lieutenant and a deputy from the Police Department, a member from the Department of Public Works, and a member from the Emergency Management Agency. The LEPC devises a written response plan that must be written for responding to a hazardous material incident within its jurisdiction. The plan must be reviewed annually. Emergency responders must be trained to levels indicated in the plan. At a minimum, first responders must be trained to the awareness level. The emergency response plan must be exercised at least once a year, and the committee must maintain a system to collect, store, and respond to public requests.